What is Digital Law?

Digital law is the law that keeps internet away from bad people who do nothing but invade the digital community. Digital law helps keep illegal things from happening. Things like plagiarism, hacking, piracy are part of digital law. These things happen almost every day and it is invading the digital community. Plagiarism is copying other people’s things. It is not correct. There are many pictures that can’t be downloaded because the author doesn’t want that to happen. There are many new sites and software that allows you to check your work if it is plagiarized or not. This is really helpful because it allows to make sure that the work you are handing in is not plagiarized and completely in your own words. Also hacking into other people’s accounts and computers is wrong. This is very dangerous because this gives access to your account and your personal information will be visible to other people. Every one doesn’t want that to happen to them and I am sure that there is information that people would like to have personal.  So all those people doing these things stop it! You are invading the same digital community that you are part of.

How to be a good citizen?

·         Don’t hack into other people’s accounts

·         Change things into your own words while doing research

·         Give credit to people if you are taking something directly from them.

·         Pay money for something that you are downloading (if needed)

·         Don’t do things that are illegal

·         If you are using something like PayPal or online banking then make sure you are not using some site that is not original and you are following all the safety rules.

·         If you think that something is wrong then you should report about it immediately. Although there is no guarantee that you will get a response right away

How it impacts me?

Being a teenager in the 21st century I am great member of the digital community. There are times when I download some movies or games illegally. I try to avoid it as much as possible. Also recently my email was hacked. That was a lesson from my mistake to make sure that my account is protected properly and my password is strong enough so no one can crack it. Since I am a student I have to work on many different research projects. I have to be very careful about plagiarism and giving people credit for the things they deserve. Plagiarism and downloading correctly are the two most important things. It is very easy to make a mistake and I have tried my best to avoid doing these mistakes.




Leave a Reply.